Trapping Baby Ferals – a Primer

Bringing them home to the feral recovery cage

“I’m taking a cat this morning, Jim says as I lay there in bed after a sleepless night listening to him snore. I roll over as I say to myself, “I can’t get up to help, I’m so tired”. I lay there thinking he probably needs me to help him and no matter how tired I am now, I can always take a nap later. I get up and quickly get dressed, transfer the cats from one room to another – don’t ask – and head downstairs. He’s outside in the throng of things so I don’t go out fearing I’ll disturb the cats and they’ll get spooked. In order to get the kittens Jim has to grab them by the neck and put them into the feral trap. No easy feat when you have a squirming feral cat in hand. You have one try  then they’re gone and there is no forcing them into the cage or the trap door will come down.
So you have to be quick and they have to be hungry enough to be interested in the food inside the cage. It’s harder with the adults because you have to wait till they go in themselves. We can only take them in to the vet before nine in the morning which means we have to leave at 8:30am to make it.
Mother had 3 kittens in her last litter right before she got neutered so after today we have two left to spay. We know they are getting close to the time they can be mated because the toms have started to hang out. There are two toms that are the fathers of the cats in the colony but they’re too street smart to go into a trap.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

